Kick-Ass 2 Review

21/08/2013 21:30

Hello, today I am going to write a review on Kick-Ass 2. As I don’t know who is going to read this, I will have to censor some words. Now after that short introduction I will start my review.

 

The film was directed by Jeff Wadlow, who was personally recommended by Matthew Vaughn, the director of the first film. However, Vaughn still produces the second movie.

 

The costumes for each of the character are the same as the first film, vibrant with colour. Each costume is unique, which allows the viewer to identify each of the characters. The costumes for the superheroes were mostly bright colours, whereas the supervillains team used the colour scheme of black and red. As the villain, the Motherf*****, used to be Red Mist in the first film, the colour schemes have not changed, however the actual costume of Red Mist has. The other costumes, Hit-Girls and Kick-Ass’, have not really changed that much.

 

The characters in this film are brilliant. I would say that my favourite character is Colonel Stars and Stripes, portrayed none other than Jim Carrey. His character was hilarious, the voice, the way he plays his character. Absolutely brilliant! I also like the way the other characters are portrayed as well. Chloe Moretz does a brilliant job playing as Hit-Girl but mostly as Mindy Macready, Aaron Taylor-Johnson as Kick-Ass, Christopher Mintz-Plasse as The Motherf*****, and many others.

 

The music in this film is also very good. Some of the score from the first film is also used in the second film. It is quite uplifting, and also matches the scene that is at the same moment as the music. The soundtrack is quite different though. There is a mix of songs which I don’t really know, but they work well with the film.

 

This review has come to an end now, with a short conclusion. This film was brilliant, however not as good as the first film and a lot darker. I give this film, 4 stars out of 5.

 

****